Keeping Innocent People Innocent®



Personal Injury

Houston Personal Injury Lawyer

If you have been injured in an accident, it is important you take appropriate action and schedule a free consultation with a Houston personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. Without a personal injury attorney on your side it can be difficult to navigate the laws pertaining to a personal injury claim, especially when you may be facing hospitalization, doctors’ visits, medication needs, and rehabilitation just to get back on track.

Accidents can completely turn your life upside down. We understand the caveats of the insurance companies pertaining to personal injury claims. It is difficult enough to get better without worrying about insurance claims or holding the negligent party responsible for your losses. Let us provide you with the peace of mind that your rights are being fought for. You need the services of the professional personal injury lawyers at Blass Law in Houston. Call (713) 225-1900 for a free consultation today.

Do I Need a Personal Injury Lawyer?

If you have suffered injuries or property damage due to someone else’s negligence, you need to hire a personal injury attorney. Personal injury claims are time sensitive and can be complex, often involving lawyers from insurance companies representing the defendant.

Aggressive insurance company lawyers will try to show that their client was not negligent and may even try to argue that you are partially at fault. A personal injury lawsuit can be overwhelming, intimidating, and confusing. The personal injury attorneys at Blass Law have the experience and tenacity to fight against the insurance company’s low-ball tactics and get the best possible result for your case.

Types of Personal Injury Cases We Handle

Car Accident Motorcycle Accident Dog Bite
18-Wheeler Accident Pedestrian Accident Wrongful Death
Drunk Driving Accident Uber Accident Premises Liability (Slip & Fall)
Sexual Assault Victims Maritime and Admiralty Accident

What is Comparative Negligence or the “Shared Fault” Rule?

Courts determine liability under a rule often referred to as proportionate responsibility or the shared fault rule. This means that if your accident involved the negligence of more than one person, each person will be liable for a portion of the awarded damages commiserate with their proportion of fault.

Under the shared fault rule you can recover damages even if the court finds you partially responsible for your own injuries. If, for instance, you suffered injuries resulting from a fall on a slippery floor in an office while you were texting, the court may find that you were partially at fault for not giving your full attention to walking. If the court finds that your portion of responsibility is less than 50 percent, you may still be able to recover damages. However, if your responsibility is judged to be 51 percent or more, you cannot receive compensation for your injuries.

Common Injuries in Texas Personal Injury Lawsuits

Some of the most common injuries in Texas personal injury lawsuits include:

  • Broken bones
  • Whiplash
  • Burns
  • Skin puncture
  • Abrasion
  • Emotional stress
  • Slipped/herniated disc
  • Extended illness, needless suffering, or wrongful death due to medical malpractice
  • Repetitive motion injury
  • Muscle stress/sprain
  • Birth injury
  • Partial or total disability
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Bodily deformity
  • Permanent scars

Common Types of Recovery in Houston Personal Injury Lawsuits

The purpose of a personal injury lawsuit is to establish a fair amount of compensation for actual out-of-pocket costs as well as possible future trauma, and emotional suffering. Types of damages that Blass Law may seek to recover include:

  • Economic Damages: These are actual financial losses suffered due to your personal injury. They include your medical bills, hospital bills, ambulance fees, prescription medication, and rehabilitation expenses, as well as compensation for lost wages and any property damages.
  • Non-Economic Damages: These are the intangible factors that are harder to determine a specific dollar amount. This amount is often a matter of judgment and may include such factors as your pain and suffering, the mental anguish suffered by you and your family, loss of companionship, and compensation for the emotional trauma of dealing with any permanent or life-altering scarring and disfigurement.
  • Exemplary Damages: In Texas a personal injury lawsuit may also ask for exemplary, or punitive, damages. These are meant as a kind of fine and are designed to serve as punishment for the at-fault party for their negligent or reckless conduct.

What Should I Do if I am Injured in an Accident?

The first step in any personal injury accident is always to take care of your own injuries as soon as possible. Go to the hospital or emergency room, if needed, or consult your personal physician. Once your physical state has been properly assessed by a medical professional, you can consider the possibility of filing a personal injury lawsuit. Here are the steps which may be involved:

  1. Documentation: As soon as reasonably possible, document everything you can about the incident. Take numerous photos from every possible angle and write down your recollection of the details surrounding the accident. Gather contact information from any witnesses.
  2. Save Everything: Set up a special file regarding the incident and keep everything related to it. Keep copies of any police or incident reports. Write down any lost time from work and keep your appropriate pay stubs. Include any paperwork from workers’ compensation or disability payments. Keep a calendar of all doctor and medical appointments and note all out-of-pocket expenses. Jot down any impressions of how you feel, or how your injuries are affecting your family.
  3. Insurance Claims: You may file a claim or be contacted by the insurance company of the party who injured you. Do not accept any offers until you have spoken to a personal injury attorney. The insurance companies have experts working for them. You need a lawyer working for you to ensure you are properly compensated. Ask the insurance company to provide any details in writing so you can review them with your lawyer.
  4. Consultation: Contact the personal injury lawyers at Blass Law for a consultation to determine whether your case is worth pursuing in court. Bring along any paperwork you have accumulated to date. Our lawyers will advise you about whether it is best to try to negotiate with the insurance company for a larger settlement or if your case merits going to trial.
  5. Trial: If we do not come up with an equitable settlement with the insurance company, we will file a claim through the legal system in Texas. In this case, we will present documentation and testimony on your behalf in a court of law, show that the defendant had a duty to act and neglected that duty, and argue against the case presented by the defendant. The court will settle the money issues and set an award.

Personal Injury Lawsuit Statute of Limitations in Texas

Personal injury cases in Texas are judged by the Civil Practice and Remedies Code and are further governed by a “shared fault rule,” which means that you can seek recovery even if you are partially at fault for the accident. The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit is generally two years from the date of the incident. During this period, Blass Law will attempt to seek a pre-lawsuit settlement with the insurance company or, if needed, we will file the proper lawsuit documents on your behalf.

Contact Blass Law for a Confidential Case Evaluation

If you or a loved one have sustained injuries or property damage as the result of someone else’s negligence, you need to contact a personal injury attorney. The experienced personal injury lawsuit attorneys at Blass Law can help you navigate the legal process and ensure that you get full compensation for your damages. The insurance companies do not work with your best interest in mind. You need an experienced attorney on your side! Call (713) 225-1900 to speak to a personal injury lawyer or request a consultation online.