If you are convicted of a first-offense DWI charge, you could face jail time and many other consequences. Texas is especially harsh on those charged with DWI, including first-time offenders.
Our Richmond DWI lawyers can face your charges with you and fight on your behalf for the best possible outcome, including a dismissal of the case. With over 14 years of experience defending the accused, our Richmond first-offense DWI lawyer, Jay Blass Cohen, knows how to handle your case.
What Are the Potential Penalties for a First-Time DWI in Texas?
Texas law is very harsh on those facing DWI charges, including first-time offenders. While rare, a first offense could even be a felony in certain circumstances.
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, a first offense is typically a Class B misdemeanor, with penalties of up to $2,000 in fines, up to 180 days in jail, and loss of your driver’s license for up to one year.
According to Texas Penal Code § 49.04, if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over 0.15 at the time of your arrest, the charges may be upgraded to a Class A misdemeanor. This may result in a fine of up to $4,000, jail time for up to one year, and loss of your driver’s license for up to two years.
Thankfully, you may be able to avoid these penalties if you have a strong defense with experienced criminal defense attorney Jay Blass Cohen on your side.
For a legal consultation with a first-offense dwi lawyer serving Richmond, call 713-225-1900
What Will a Richmond First-Offense DWI Lawyer Do for Me?
With Attorney Jay Blass Cohen on your team, you won’t have to face your charges and fight alone. Jay will fight hard for the best possible outcome in your case.
You can expect your Richmond DWI attorney to do all of the following for you and more:
- Investigate your arrest: If there were any issues with your arrest, your case could be dismissed. For instance, if the arresting officer did not have probable cause for the initial detention, this could lead to a case dismissal.
- Collect evidence: A lot of evidence may be in your favor. For example, security camera footage or eyewitness testimony could indicate your innocence. Your lawyer will seek out such evidence.
- Find issues with the evidence against you: To support your case even more and poke holes in the case against you, your lawyer will look for issues with the prosecution’s evidence, such as blood tests and inconclusive breathalyzer test results.
- Build your case: Depending on the evidence and other factors, your lawyer could argue that law enforcement violated your constitutional rights, the breath test is invalid, there was a lack of probable cause to pull you over, or another defense. Each of those defenses is strong. Your lawyer could use multiple defenses for your case.
- Represent you in court: Your lawyer will argue your case in the courtroom and argue against the prosecution. They will also protect your rights in court.
- Demand a fair trial: Everyone is innocent until proven guilty, and your Richmond DWI lawyer will demand that you be treated that way. If your charge isn’t fair, your lawyer may demand a lesser charge or argue for dismissal.
- Negotiate for a plea bargain, if necessary: In some cases, a plea bargain is the best option. A plea bargain involves pleading guilty to a lesser charge in exchange for more lenient penalties.
Is Probation an Option for a First-Time DWI in Texas?
First-time DWI offenders who plead guilty or no contest may be eligible for probation. However, the defendant must convince the judge to grant them probation, which can be difficult for an accused person to do on their own.
In this case, working with our Richmond first-offense DWI lawyer at Blass Law may be invaluable. Jay’s experience and past results make him a great advocate to help you make your case for probation.
Can a First-Offense DWI Be Dismissed in Texas?
In some situations, the law enforcement officer who arrested you may not have had a legal right to pull you over, or they may have violated your legal rights during the arrest or BAC testing process.
The burden of proof rests on the prosecution, and if they cannot prove their case, your Richmond DWI lawyer may be able to get your charges dismissed.
Richmond First-Offense DWI Attorney 713-225-1900
Richmond First-Offense DWI Attorney Jay Blass Cohen
Richmond DWI defense attorney Jay Blass Cohen has over 14 years of experience defending accused individuals like you. He has the experience you want in a criminal defense attorney.
To help him work for you, Jay has many relevant certifications and memberships. He is:
- Certified in forensic chromatography for alcohol and drugs
- Certified as an ACS-CHAL forensic attorney-scientist
- A member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- A member of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
- A member of the Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association
- A member of the Houston Bar Association
Over his time in practice, Jay has been very successful. He has defended many people accused of DWI. For instance, one of his clients, a commercial driver, was found not guilty of DWI, even after failing sobriety tests at the scene and the police station.
You can read about Jay’s many other successes, including several DWI cases, on our case results page.
Contact Us to Connect With a First-Offense DWI Attorney in Richmond, Texas
If you are facing a first-offense DWI charge, our firm can Help. Our attorney, Jay Blass Cohen, will face the charge with you and fight on your behalf for your innocence or a lesser charge. You can trust in Jay’s experience and success.
To learn more, consult with us. We’ll help you understand your situation better and work hard to resolve it. Contact Blass Law today for your consultation.