Getting in someone’s face can be considered assault in certain situations. Texas Penal Code § 22.01 defines assault as intentionally or knowingly threatening to cause imminent bodily injury to another person.
In short, if getting in someone’s face involves threatening them with imminent bodily injury, it might be considered assault, which the state classifies as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor conviction will remain on your record and can have a variety of negative repercussions for your future.
Class A Assault Is A Punishable Misdemeanor
The law is clear in its stance that no one has the right to assault another person in any fashion or to any degree. In Texas, the punishments for Class A misdemeanor assault can include:
- A fine of up to $4,000
- Up to 365 days of jail time
A misdemeanor assault conviction on your record can cast a pall on your reputation and make it difficult for you to advance in your career. A conviction can also make it difficult for you and your family to live peaceably and quietly in your community.
A Conviction For Assault Can Change Your Life
When you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, you may experience collateral consequences. Even once you have paid a fine or served a period of time in jail or prison, an assault conviction can still follow you and create uncomfortable situations such as:
- Being forced to give up your employment to serve a sentence
- Having to explain gaps in your resume to potential employers
- Making community life awkward for your family members
- Difficulty obtaining housing due to background and credit checks
A criminal conviction can also cause embarrassment and an ongoing need to explain your position and recount the events and circumstances of your current situation.
For a legal consultation, call 713-225-1900
Understand How Texas Classifies and Penalizes Assault
A misdemeanor or felony assault is a serious charge. The penalties coupled with the lasting stigma and possible threat to your lifestyle, career, and family make it important for you to get legal representation that can help you minimize the consequences as much as possible.
A charge of assault in Texas can have many different consequences. It is important that you understand the type of assault charge you might be facing and the punishment it might carry.
Definition of Aggravated Assault
An assault is classified as aggravated assault if the assailant causes serious bodily injury to the victim or uses or exhibits a deadly weapon. It can range in definition from a second- to a first-degree felony with serious penalties and consequences.
If you are convicted of aggravated assault, penalties and punishments can include up to life in prison and a hefty fine. These consequences can deprive you of your freedom and your family of your company for years. The consequences can also create a significant financial hardship for you and your family.
The Penalty For Assault On An Elderly Person
Elderly people are not always as capable of defending themselves against a physical assault as a younger person. A conviction for assaulting an elderly person – anyone over the age of 65 – carries its own set of penalties. An assault against the elderly is defined as causing them serious bodily injury, serious mental deficiency, impairment or injury, or bodily injury.
In addition, the assault of an elderly person can mean the crime you are charged is enhanced to a more serious one.
- The assault is considered first-degree when it is intentional or knowingly
- The assault is considered second-degree when it is reckless
Consult with a lawyer to accurately understand the degree and severity of the charges you might be facing.
Speak To A Criminal Defense Lawyer As Soon As Possible
In many cases, getting in someone’s face can be considered assault. If you are arrested or detained after a verbal confrontation, do not hesitate to get the legal advice you need as soon as possible after your arrest.
Call Blass Law at (713) 225-1900 to speak to a member of our team and get representation you can depend on. We will work diligently on your case to achieve the best possible outcome and to help you steer your life in the best possible direction.
Call or text 713-225-1900 or complete a Case Evaluation form