If you get arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Pasadena, Texas or elsewhere in Harris County, Texas, you should not try to navigate this process on your own. At Blass Law, we understand how stressful and frightening it can be to face charges. A DWI conviction may bring significant penalties as listed in Texas §12.01 and lifelong repercussions. Some aspects of these cases move very quickly, so it is important that you do not waste time and hire a DWI lawyer for your Pasadena, TX case.
Reach out to us as soon as possible following your arrest. We offer confidential case evaluations. Call today to learn more.
Blass Law Takes on All Types of Pasadena DWI Cases
In many cases, DWI arrests in Texas occur because a law enforcement officer believes a driver’s behaviors indicate impairment. It is the officer’s opinion that the driver had too much to drink and cannot drive safely. If this happened to you following a traffic stop or accident, you may face charges after:
- Performing standardized field sobriety tests
- Consenting to blood alcohol content (BAC) testing and tested at .08% or above
- The officer agreeing to testify that your actions made you appear to have lost the normal use of your mental or physical faculties
Texas also has several other drunk driving-related charges you could face. For example, if you are under the legal drinking age but have any detectable alcohol in your blood, you could face driving under the influence charges. As the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) details, open container violations, DWI with a child passenger, intoxication assault, intoxication manslaughter, and boating while intoxicated are also possible drunk driving charges.
For a legal consultation with a DWI lawyer’s office serving Pasadena, Texas call us today.
For a free legal consultation with a dwi lawyer serving Pasadena, call 713-225-1900
Blass Law Can Protect Your Rights and Fight a Pasadena DWI Charge
If a law enforcement officer accuses you of committing an intoxication and alcoholic beverage offense in Texas, you should prepare yourself for a tough fight. Texas takes DWI and related charges seriously. This is why you want Blass Law on your side.
We know how to get a more favorable outcome in this type of case and can fight to ensure your rights remain protected and to get the charges dismissed or reduced. We will look at the circumstances of your case and strategize a plan that may be able to:
- Stop charges from being filed
- Get the charges dismissed
- Negotiate a plea deal to plead guilty to a lesser charge
- Take your case to trial and fight for an acquittal
- Present your case to the judge to avoid prison
Fees You Can Save by Working with Our Team
You may be considering the merits of working with a Pasadena, TX DWI lawyer to build your defense. You may not be sure if legal representation is something that is worth paying for.
Keep in mind that the costs of a DWI charge and conviction can end up costing you far more than legal representation. Some of these DWI fees you could face include:
- Maximum fines for a DWI (ranging from $2,000 to $10,000)
- DWI bail costs (ranging from $100 to $100,000, depending on prior DWI convictions and aggravating offenses)
- DWI restitution charges (which can be especially steep if bodily harm or property damage resulted from the accident)
- Additional DWI fines
At Blass Law, we can negotiate for minimum DWI fines and work to reduce most or all of these penalties.
Pasadena DWI Lawyer Near Me 713-225-1900
Pasadena DWI Convictions Come with Serious Penalties
Even without a conviction, you can face a loss of your driving privileges, known as an administrative license revocation (ALR). This revocation will go into effect unless you request a hearing and challenge it in the first 15 days following your arrest. Contact us as early as possible for help with this process.
What Is a First Offense?
If convicted, though, the penalties become more severe and potentially life-altering. A first offense is punishable by:
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Three days to six months in county jail
- An additional driver license suspension
In many cases where our client does not have a history of alcohol-related offenses, we can convince the judge to order probation instead of their usual sentence for first-time offenders. This may help you avoid jail time and other penalties.
If You Have Past Convictions
If you have previous DWIs, though, the stakes are higher. A second DWI conviction calls for:
- Increased jail time
- Up to $4,000 in fines
A third or subsequent DWI is a felony. This could mean:
- Serving two to ten years in state prison
- A fine of up to $10,000
As you can see, these are not light penalties that could have you back at work and back behind the wheel in no time. If possible, you will want to fight to reduce or eliminate the charges against you, reduce the sentence you receive, or mitigate the effect a conviction has on your life. We can help.
The Attorneys at Blass Law Have the Experience You Need to See Your DWI Case Through From Start to Finish
Led by defense attorney Jay Cohen, the Blass Law team fights for people just like you who face false, unfair, or seemingly insurmountable accusations of DWI or related offenses. Cohen is a career criminal defense attorney. He has never worked with the prosecutor’s office and has never fought against people in your position. He and his team have always been on your side and will be as long as you need our help.
Cohen, a certified practitioner and instructor of Standardized Field Sobriety Tests, knows what it takes to get a more favorable outcome in a DWI case. At Blass Law, you can expect strategic, aggressive representation. We believe your reputation, career or education, and future are worth defending.
We Take Pride in Getting Results for Clients
At Blass Law, we will work hard for the best possible outcome for your case. Some of our past results for clients include:
- Not guilty – DWI. After falling asleep in his car while blocking the roadway, a driver failed his field sobriety tests and the blood sample was three times the legal limit. He was found not guilty of misdemeanor charges.
- Not guilty – DWI. After being pulled over for speeding, a driver failed field sobriety tests, refused a breath test and police got a warrant for a blood draw. The blood results were more than two times the legal limit. His misdemeanor charges were dismissed in the middle of trial.
Even if you are facing serious charges, we may be able to build a compelling case for you.
Let us review your case today. A DWI attorney in Pasadena, TX, can help you find answers to your questions in addition to explaining what the Blass Law team can do for you. Call us today to get started.
Complete a Free DWI Case Evaluation form now
Talk to a Pasadena DWI Lawyer about Your Harris County DWI Today
At Blass Law, we are available to answer your questions and help you understand your legal options.
Call us today. A Pasadena DWI lawyer with our firm can develop a strong defense strategy based on the facts of your case.